Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Maysonet named Big South Male Athlete of the Year

Charlotte, N.C. - Just days before the start of NFL training camp, Miguel Maysonet can add one more honor to his collection. Maysonet was named the Big South Conference's Howard Bagwell Male Athlete of the Year Wednesday, becoming the first football player to do so.
Maysonet, who earned 79 points and eight first-place votes, finished ahead of Coastal Carolina soccer All-American Ashton Bennett.
Voting was done by the conference's Athletic Directors, Senior Woman Administrators and Sports Information Directors.
Maysonet, a finalist for the Walter Payton Award, given to the outstanding player in FCS, rushed for 1,964 yards, the 11th most yards in a season in FCS history, and scored 23 total touchdowns in 2012.
The 5-10, 210-pound back accounted for more than 100 rushing yards in a game six times and had three games with 200 or more yards in 2012. During a four-game span, he rushed for a career-high three times, capped by a 233-yard, two-touchdown performance at Coastal Carolina.
In Stony Brook's two FBS games last season, Maysonet totaled 158 yards and a touchdown against Syracuse and 220 yards and two scores in a 23-3 win over Army. Maysonet increased his rushing totals in each of three seasons as a Seawolf, rushing for 1,128 yards as a sophomore to 1,633 as a junior to 1,964 as a senior.
When factoring in his freshman season at Hofstra, he finished his career with 5,110 yards, good for 17th all-time in FCS history, and 51 touchdowns, despite averaging only 16 carries per game.
The 2011 and 2012 Big South Offensive Player of the Year recorded 21 games with 100 or more yards, had six games with three touchdowns and is the only player in school and conference history with two games of four scores.
Maysonet also owns school and conference records for career rushing yards (4,725), yards per game (127.7), touchdowns (53) and rushing attempts (695). 

In March 2000, the Big South Conference Executive Committee voted to create an annual Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year award, and name the male award in honor of former Charleston Southern Athletic Director Howard Bagwell, who was one of the founders of the Big South Conference. The annual candidates for the award consist of the Players of the Year from each sport for the season most recently completed.