Tuesday, May 22, 2012


AE release with full teams

Stony Brook, N.Y. - The Stony Brook baseball team, fresh off a second straight America East regular season title, swept the four major conference awards, the America East office announced on Tuesday. Junior Travis Jankowski was named Player of the Year, senior Tyler Johnson earned Pitcher of the Year honors, freshman Cole Peragine was tabbed Rookie of the Year and Matt Senktook home his second straight Coach of the Year award.
In addition, the Seawolves had a league-high 12 players earn all-conference honors. Senior Pat Cantwell, juniors Tanner Nivins, William Carmona and Maxx Tissenbaum and sophomore Brandon McNittjoined Jankowski and Johnson on the first team.
Peragine earned second team honors along with fellow freshman Steven Goldstein and Kevin Krause, senior Evan Stecko-Haley and sophomore Frankie Vanderka. In addition, Peragine, Goldstein and Krause each were selected to the All-Rookie squad.

Jankowski becomes the second straight Seawolf to be named Player of the Year as Carmona took home the honor last year. Johnson is the third straight Stony Brook hurler to win Pitcher of the Year as former All-American Nick Tropeanowon it the previous two years.

Named to the midseason watch list for the Golden Spikes Award, Jankowski ranks 16th in the nation in batting average (.397) and runs scored (59), is eighth in steals (34) and leads the country with nine triples.
A three-time first team selection, Johnson became the Stony Brook all-time wins leader earlier this season and led the America East in victories (eight) and ERA (1.84).
Peragine started 53 games at shortstop in his first year at Stony Brook, hitting .335 with 35 RBI. He is the third consecutive Stony Brook player to be named Rookie of the Year (McNitt, Carmona).
Senk guided the Seawolves to a school record 43 wins and has led Stony Brook to a .787 winning percentage (85-23) since the beginning of last season, which is the best in the nation over that span.
Carmona earned first team honors for the third consecutive season, hitting .390 while leading the conference in home runs (nine), RBI (55) and doubles (21).
Cantwell picked up his second straight first team selection at catcher, throwing out 16 of 20 would be base stealers in addition to hitting .308.
Tissenbaum hit .384 with 14 doubles as was named first team at second base for a second consecutive season. The 2011 America East Rookie of the Year, McNitt went 7-2 with a 2.20 ERA.
Nivins was selected to the first team after earning second team honors last season. He hit .333 with 16 extra-base hits and hit .403 in conference play.
Stecko-Haley earned all-conference honors for the first time, going 7-3 with a 2.49 ERA in 12 starts. Vanderka posted a 2.31 ERA in 46.2 innings and was second in the America East with five saves.
Goldstein ranked fourth in the America East with .365 batting average and drove in 29 runs in 39 starts in the outfield. Krause hit .333 in 46 starts and had eight doubles and 34 RBI.
Stony Brook hosts the 2012 America East Championship this week at Joe Nathan Field.
The top-seeded Seawolves open the four-team double-elimination tournament against No. 4 Maine on Wednesday at 3 p.m.