Tuesday, June 10, 2008


Adelphi Captures ECC Commissioner's Cup

A first-place finish by women's cross-country contributed to winning the Cup.

The award is the seventh overall for the Adelphi program since the Cup was established in 1994-95.

May 29, 2008

Central Islip, N.Y. - Adelphi University has been crowned as winners of the 2007-08 East Coast Conference (ECC) Commissioner's Cup.

Under the direction of Director of Athletics Robert E. Hartwell, the Panthers program garnered 106.5 total points, edging two-time defending Commissioner's Cup winner LIU/C.W. Post, which finished with 102.25 points.
The award is the seventh overall for the Adelphi program since the Cup was established in 1994-95. The Panthers program also earned the Cup in 2005, 2003, 2002, 2001, 1999 and 1997.
Adelphi was powered by ECC titles in women's cross country and women's lacrosse, and overall second place finishes in softball, men's cross country and men's basketball. Panther programs also finished among the conference's top four in women's tennis, women's volleyball, and men's tennis.
C.W. Post was powered to the second place finish thanks in part to capturing regular season and tournament championships in men's basketball and softball, the women's soccer tournament title, and finished among the top four overall programs in women's cross country, women's volleyball, women's basketball, men's lacrosse, and women's lacrosse.
Dowling College took third overall with 100.5 points. The Golden Lions captured ECC regular season and tournament championships in men's soccer and women's volleyball and finished among the top four programs in men's cross country, women's tennis, men's lacrosse, women's lacrosse, and women's soccer.
The University of New Haven placed fourth overall with 91.75 points, while NYIT rounded out the top five with 68.25 points.
The remainder of the Commissioner's Cup standings including Molloy College (67), the University of Bridgeport (62.5), Saint Thomas Aquinas College (60), Queens College (55), Concordia College (48) and Mercy College (32.5).

A complete list follows.
2007-08 ECC Commissioner's Cup Final Standings Adelphi 106.5 C.W. Post 102.25 Dowling 100.5 New Haven 91.75 NYIT 68.25 Molloy 67 Bridgeport 62.5 Saint Thomas Aquinas 60 Queens 55 Concordia 48 Mercy 32.5

All Time ECC Commissioner's Cup Champions 2007-08 Adelphi University 2006-07 LIU/C.W. Post 2005-06 LIU/C.W. Post 2004-05 Adelphi University 2003-04 University of New Haven 2002-03 Adelphi University 2001-02 Adelphi University 2000-01 Adelphi University 1999-00 Dowling College 1998-99 Adelphi University 1997-98 Dowling College 1996-97 Adelphi University 1995-96 College of Saint Rose 1994-95 College of Saint Rose
About the ECC Commissioner's Cup:
The East Coast Conference Commissioner's Cup is emblematic of the league's top program across its 13 championship sports. A new scoring system was established in 2006-07 to further reward programs that succeed in both regular-season and post-season play. The scoring system works as follows:
Points for the number of schools whose teams compete for the post-season championship are split between the team that finishes in that place during the year and the team that finishes in that place in the championship. If a team is eliminated in the semi-finals or quarterfinals, its place is determined by its finish during the regular season. A school which does not sponsor a sport receives zero points for that sport. Highest point total for each sport is the number of schools in the conference (11), regardless of how many schools sponsor that sport. In sports in which no championship is held, the regular season finish is utilized.